An Ode to Ale

The woes of a semi-alcoholic told to keep away from the booze.

An Ode to Ale

You know there are many, who say we shouldn’t
But resist your charms, you know I couldn’t
And now when I see you, sitting on that bar
My heart skips a beat, shoots to a star

 In whatever form, you know you tempt me
You test my will, please do exempt me
From tap to a glass, or a pint on the table
To keep away from you, I am unable

 Your simple golden glow, borders divinity
Your light frothy head, sings songs of serenity
The little drops of water, dripping down your side
Akin dew in a meadow, or the skin of a bride

 The memories of you, and the times we’ve had
Like a distant melody, linger in my mind
The coolness of your touch, in summer afternoons
Or the madness that ensues, after drinking in saloons

 Or even those nights, when me and a pint
Just reading or cooking, chill quietly in the night
Those were the days, those were the times
Whenever I fancied, I knew you were mine

 And now here I am, in this sad and sober state
Dreaming of better times, you know I can hardly wait
When alas we meet, I’ll bid this drought adieu
My dearest friend beer, oh holiest of all brews

One thought on “An Ode to Ale

Leave a comment